VERF Launches Mobility and Access in African Cities (MAC)

Deadline: 15 October 2019

The MAC program seeks to contribute to forming a new generation of highly skilled sub-Saharan university researchers and teachers, as well as to engage professionals, policy makers and actors within civil society who are committed to achieving goals of sustainable and equitable urban mobility and access. Leading international experts can also contribute to the program through collaborative research projects with their sub-Saharan African counterparts.

Thematic Clusters

  • Thematic Cluster 1: User Needs and Practices, Equity Issues
  • Thematic Cluster 2: Governance, Politics, Institutions and Finances
  • Thematic Cluster 3: Emerging Business Models and Services Options
  • Thematic Cluster 4: Safety, Health and the Urban Environment
  • Thematic Cluster 5: System Design and Modal Integration
  • The total budget for this Call is 3 million Swedish crowns (approx. 280.000 Euros).
  • VREF envisages supporting up to six projects, each with a grant up to approx. 47,000 Euros.
  • The project grant can be used to cover costs for salaries, travel, equipment, possible workshops/project meetings and other costs directly linked to project implementation.

Eligibility Criteria

  • Projects must be directed at generating new knowledge that clearly addresses issues in at least one of the above thematic clusters (linkages to additional thematic clusters may also be included).
  • Projects must include comparative work from urban areas in at least two sub-Saharan African countries.
  • The project leader must be based in a research environment at a university in sub-Saharan Africa.
  • The project team must consist of researchers from at least two different universities in sub-Saharan Africa (other partners, such as cities, organizations from civil society or NGOs may also be included).

Africa India Mobility Fund (AIMF) – Supporting Short Visits to Explore Collaborative Opportunities

Deadline: 4 October 2019

Applicants are invited to submit their applications for Africa India Mobility Fund (AIMF) which is a two-year programme designed to provide researchers from Africa and India with opportunities for short visits in either direction to explore opportunities for building and strengthening scientific collaboration.

The AIMF is a partnership between The African Academy of Sciences (The AAS) and the Wellcome Trust/DBT India Alliance (India Alliance) that has been running since April 2018 to promote collaboration between African and Indian scientists.


Applications broadly focused on infectious and non-communicable diseases of relevance to local, national, or global health will be accepted every month. The scope of the collaborative opportunity may include but is not limited to HIV/AIDS, TB, dengue, malaria, vector-borne diseases, parasitic infections, emerging infections, cancer, diabetes, hypertension, health systems research, antimicrobial resistance, drug development, microbiome and general biomedical sciences.


  • To strengthen research & innovation capacity and knowledge exchange
  • To strengthen scientific collaboration between Indian and African teams

Financial Support

  • The award will cover directly incurred costs up to $5,000 / INR 325,000 for travel lasting up to 3 months. This is to cover the applicant’s airfare (at Economy class) and subsistence whilst on the visit. Salaries and fees to attend meetings will not be eligible. An additional $2,500 may be requested for laboratory reagents, however, the decision to award the extra funds will be on case by case basis upon justification of the needs.
  • The amount of each individual award will vary according to location and timescale. For example, if staying for a 3-month placement, the applicant may be expected to source university accommodation, or a short term let. However, if visiting for a week, a hotel or equivalent may be more suitable. The decision committee will consider whether the expenses are reasonable and may ask for revised costing.
  • Please note that the grant can only be used to deliver the objectives stated in the grant application. Ensure that the best estimates for the full cost of undertaking the project described in the application are requested.
  • Applicants may not seek funding for conference attendance, salary, equipment, per diem and indirect costs.

Eligibility Criteria

  • Applicants must be nationals of India or nationals of countries within Africa.
  • They should be based either in Africa or in India, and should be affiliated with a recognised academic, medical, research institution, or other similar institutions. Those based at for-profit organisations are not eligible.
  • The call is also open to non-African investigators who must be resident in Africa or Overseas Citizen of India (evidence may be requested), have an appointment/affiliation with an African/Indian institution, and their residence and tenure of service with the appointing African/Indian institution should cover the duration of the award.
  • Travel should be between an African country and India and can be in either direction. Travel within Africa can also be sought for an engagement of more than one African country with India.
  • Applicants must have a PhD/MD or equivalent research qualification and hold a permanent or fixed-term contract in an eligible institution, which must span the duration of the project.
  • Collaboration should focus on a single project involving researchers in Africa and India, respectively.
  • An applicant is eligible to receive only one grant per year.

How to Apply

Applicants can apply online via given website.

Eligible Countries: India, Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cape Verde, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Republic of the Congo, Democratic Republic of the, Cote d’Ivorie, Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe